Free Bundled ebooks with Print Copies

So here is one of the most exciting aspects about my return to self-publishing.  The ability to do things that traditional publisher’s can’t or won’t do.  Which brings me to today’s post.

Both during the kickstarter, and after the official release, anyone who buys the printed book will get all formats (DRM-free) of the ebook for free.

To me this seems like a no-brainer. I personally love reading on my ipad, and my wife is addicted to her kindle, and my son started reading once we got him a Nexus…but I know many people who still like paper, and I frequently pass my print copy of a favorite book to them to read.

I think there are many people like me, who want paper for the shelf and to loan, but would prefer reading electronically.  I actually make quite a bit of money because people who buy my traditional books buy multiple formats…but I don’t think they should have to.

In a world filled with pirates, and those feeling entitled to work they’ve never bought, I’m grateful for a legitimate purchase and once you’ve bought my book legitimately, why shouldn’t you be able to read it on whatever device, or in paper if you want.

Because Hollow World won’t be in bookstores it will be actually easy to do.  Almost everyone who buys the book will do so either directly from my website, through Amazon, or Barnes and Noble and all they’ll have to do is forward me their receipt, and I’ll email the ebooks.  It will be a bit of a pain to administrate but I can pay my son to process the requests and I’m not “that big” that it’s going to be completely impossible to keep up with.

Ah freedom….it’s a wonderful, wonderful thing.

Leave a comment