Making of a cover

Yesterday, I got an email from Mark Simonetti that he was about to start on the actual cover and he was live-streaming his work on it. Of course I tuned it…it was fascinating to watch.  I’ve done my own covers in the past, and was a pretty good creative director and graphic design person back when I ran my own agency, but Marc is a true artist that puts me to shame.  What I’m most amazed by is how he skips around from place to place and his mastery of scale, lighting and perspective is nothing short of outstanding. I really enjoyed watching it…and at some point you too will be able to see it as he’ll make a condensed “fast forward” version at some point.

When looking around his site, I found a saved live stream that showed the creation of the “rough sketch”.  Again it was mesmerizing – and I watched all hour and a half  of it.  You can too, or skip around to see how the piece progresses.  Here is a link.

I also took a few screen shots so people could see it in various stages.

Image

Leave a Reply

